The End Of An Era, Or A New Beginning?

September this year is more to our family that just the end of summer. It’s also the end of a era in our family. You see, my oldest child starts high school tomorrow.

I’m trying not to be too sad about it. It happens, right? Children grow up. There’s not a thing I can do to stop it. Nor would I want to. But it’s bothering me a bit, I guess. I’m not going to say things like “It feels like just yesterday I was changing her diaper.” because it doesn’t. That was 13 years ago. That was a long time ago.

What I will say though is that I’ve fully enjoyed the first 13 years and that I know I will fully enjoy however many years God allows us to have together.

It’s just weird, that’s all. My little girl is growing up and moving on. I will miss the child she used to be. I’m looking forward to the young woman she is becoming. She has so much to look forward to! And at least for a while, she’ll let me come along for the ride with her.

Leave a Reply

