And Now We Have Our Rooster! (And Various Things We’ve Done)

His name is Jack and he thinks he’s a movie star. He’s still young, only about 6 months or so but boy oh boy does he have the strut down pat!

He’s already “made friends” with all of our ladies. Well, all except one. Gertie doesn’t seem to be the least bit interested in him. She’s more our pet than anything and ignores Jack thouroughly.

We’ve been very busy winterizing our homestead. So far we’ve (and by we I mean my husband) have changed the poles on the front deck. They had completely rotted through at the base and weren’t even supporting the roof anymore. We’ve also supported the roof in the chicken coop, made nesting boxes, and covered the windows in the coop with a heavy plastic. We’ve set up the one area in the coop for all the animals, chickens, bunnies and goat so they can all benefit from the body heat. We’ve also cleared out one very large section of the side field and started to till it for our market garden.

Today I think we’re going to work on restoring the scroll work on the front porch and I’m going to dig out some more of the gardens. My bulbs will be coming soon, and I’d like to have the gardens ready.

That’s it for now. Every day is something more though. I love it!

4 Responses

  1. Hello, Deon. How are the gardens coming. We’re supposed to get freezing tempaeratures this weekend tnen back up to the 70’s. Trying to decide whether to pick the last tomatoes or cover them and give them one more week. Not sure what I’d do with all the green tomatoes. We have a few chilies to. I’m leaning toward covering them and hooping they don’t freeze. Any suggestions?

  2. Hello Melissa! Honestly, I haven’t had a lot of time to work on the gardens. It’s on my list though! For your tomatoes, I would suggest pulling the entire plant and letting the green tomatoes ripen out of the ground. That way you can move them inside if there is a frost on the way. Just hang the plants off a fence or something like that and they’ll be fine. 😉

  3. How does that work? Do they actually continue to ripen even though they’re notinthe ground? I”ve never heard of that before. My Mom said to pick them and sometimes they will ripen. I just hate to see the green ones go to waste.I’m the only one that will eat fried green tomatoes and I don’t think I could eat that many;-) ! I’ll have to give it a try. Interesting!

  4. That’s what I’ve always done. I have some hanging on my fence right now and they’ve all ripened. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

