Changing Is Hard!

When we made the decision to purchase this Homestead, we made a decision to live a simpler life. I started this blog to keep track of our progress.

I have to be perfectly honest here and say that we haven’t been doing very well. All we’ve done is moved our lifestyle from one house to another, and added a few more animals. We haven’t changed our spending habits, our living expenses, our travel, our eating habits or anything else for that matter. Mind you, we’ve only been here a month and we’re still trying to get settled, but the fact remains that we haven’t changed one darn thing.

So, that begs the question of why? Why haven’t we changed anything? We can’t afford to keep living the way we were in town. We incurred a large amount of debt living that way which we were able to mostly clear off with the sale of our other house. But we still carry a bit of debt which we keep adding to on almost a daily basis.

So, what to do about it?

I’ve decided that we need to change one thing a month. It’s a small start, but it’s a start. Each month we will take a vow to change one habit in our lives. We’ll start the beginning of November, since October is almost finished.

Starting in November, we are going to change our frivilous spending. If we don’t need it, we won’t buy it. That’s going to be the toughest one for all of us. We like our “things”. But did I really need that new purse I bought two days ago? I have five in my closet. So, no, I didn’t. I sure did like it though! But that’s the sort of thing that we need to change. Starting with myself. I can’t force anyone else to change, but I can start with me.

It’s going to be a tough go, but it needs to be done!

One Response

  1. I have “spells” of spending, then cut back at other times. The thing I try to do is (and it may seem drastic…LOL) I just don’t go to the bigger stores, and when I do I don’t look at things I know I may want, I bypass the clothing aisles, book aisle, magazine rack, cosmetics, etc. I find this is the ONLY way to prevent my splurges. Plus having my husband with me everytime I go HELPS! LOL I shop at a very small local grocer as well, and I’m not tempted with frivolous things or foods that we don’t usually eat, or unecessary things we don’t need.
    It really is something you have to work on a little at a time though, so you’re right about that. We have to figure out what works for “us” and do it. Gaylynn http://www.mrsgaylynn.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

