One Week In and….

It’s going really well, actually. I’ve managed to get all my routines tweaked to better reflect what needs to be done in this house. And I’ve actually been following them, which is even better. šŸ˜‰

We’ve also been doing a lot better with stretching meals. For instance, we had pork chops for dinner Thursday night. It was a $5.00 pack of quick fry chops. I made a one dish casserole type of dinner which everyone liked, but didn’t love, so it needs to be tweaked a bit too. There were three chops left over, so I sliced them up into strips, threw then in the skillet with some carrots, broccoli, green onion, green and red peppers, 1 cup of chicken stock, 1/2 cup of bbq sauce and made a sort of stir fry with the left overs.

Not only did that make three meals, but I still have enough left over from that, to have for lunch today myself.

That’s the sort of thing we really need to start focusing on more. Stretching meats as far as we can.

Things are tight right now and are going to stay that way for a while longer yet. It’s just the way it is right now for everyone.

That’s why I think restarting this blog is so important. I want to help myself and help others at the same time, try to find ways to stretch a dollar, a meal, cleaning supplies, etc. We all need to work together to get through this, right? šŸ˜‰

I’ve also been doing some baking which is cutting down on grocery costs as well. I have some new recipes to post, so stay tuned for those. šŸ˜‰

One Response

  1. Good thinking and use of available resources.Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

