How Many Meals?

How many meals can I get from one chicken?

A couple of months ago, our local grocery store had a fabulous sale on chickens. They were on buy one get one free. I couldn’t believe it!

Thankfully we were able to take full advantage of this sale and purchased 6 chickens, which gave us, of course, 12 altogether.

I’ve challenged myself to see how far I can make one chicken stretch.

Tonight we had a nice roasted chicken. In a couple of days, we’re going to have chicken pot pie. In the meantime I’m going to boil down the remaining meat and bones for chicken soup. That will stretch over a minimum of two meals.

So, out of one chicken, I have a minimum of 4 meals.

Not bad for a $6.00 chicken!!

Of course, I’m always on the lookout for new, frugal recipes, tips and hints, so if you have any suggestions on how to possibly get a fifth meal out of a chicken, I’m all ears!

2 Responses

  1. Good for you! I never get two meals out of a chicken. Maybe a few sandwiches the next day. I’ll give it a try next time.

  2. Oh good on you!…it can be done with a bit of effort and planning…

Leave a Reply

