Meal Planning

Is this something you do? If it’s not, you really should. It’s not a difficult thing to do, and trust me, it saves a bundle at the grocery store. For instance, I make my menu’s up for 2 weeks, due to my hubby’s pay schedule. We went shopping on Saturday armed with my list of ingredients for meals the next two weeks. My list was less than 10 items long. Here is what we are eating for the next two weeks.

potato brococoli and cheddar cheese soup

One pan chicken

Pigs in a blanket

Pork chop stir fry

Spaghetti

Cheesy ham and rice bake (recipe to come!)

Beef barley soup

Tuna and pasta cheddar melt (recipe to come!)

Porcupine meatballs (recipe to come!)

Stove Top chcken bake (recipe to come!)

Not bad, eh?

Because our list was so short, I was able to pick up a few things that were on sale that if I hadn’t had my menu, I wouldn’t have been able to afford. There was a pork roast there for $11.00, on sale for .99 a lb. So you can imagine how large this roast was! I was able to cut it up into 4 seperate dinner sized portions. So, that $11.00 roast, just became less than $3.00 per meal. Even less for the ones I will be cutting up into stew meat.

If I hadn’t had my menu and my short list of ingredients, I never would have been able to afford that roast.

Tomorrow, for those of you who don’t know yet, I’m going to post my way of coming up with a meal list and a weekly menu. Trust me, it’s really not hard!

Leave a Reply

