Exercising with Chihuahua’s. It’s Tougher Than It Sounds

One of my resolutions this year is to lose that last 15lbs of baby fat I’ve been carrying around for the last 10 years since the birth of my son. I know, it’s something a lot of people say they’re going to do, and I’ll admit, I’ve said it before. But this time I mean it, I really do! More than any other time. Of course, I’ve said that before too. 😉

But, that’s besides the point, right?

I’ve been working out every day using the Wii Fit that hubby and I bought just before Christmas. It’s a lot of fun and it’s been working a bit, I’m actually down 1kg! We put the Wii system in our bedroom so I can exercise when I want, and in peace when the kids and hubby were home for the holidays.

Now that the holidays are over, though, he’s back to shift work, which means that there are times when he works midnights and I can’t use the bedroom. Not a big deal, I have yoga dvd’s downstairs that I can use. And I do thouroughly enjoy yoga.

Today was the first day I pulled out the yoga mat while hubby is blissfully snoring away upstairs.

I didn’t take into account the two very young, very energetic and very loving chihuahua puppies I aquired over the summer.

Have you ever tried to do downward facing dog with two tiny little dogs licking your face? It’s not easy, I have to tell you. Never mind meditating after your workout!

I’m definitely going to have to figure something out, though. It’s very hard to find inner peace with a chihuaha dancing around your feet while in tree pose.

6 Responses

  1. Wow! Thats great! LOL I definitely had a laugh especially with the downward facing dog. When I first started doing Yoga my puppy, a Boston bull terrier, began doing the down dog with me. Definitely can’t meditate with that going on either because I laughed so hard I fell off balance! and Meditating after??? LOL My son and I were meditating together sitting in the living room when all of a sudden he screamed, the pup had peed on him while he was trying to meditate! Now, when we meditate together we make sure the pup is asleep or we start laughing and can’t get peaceful LOL. Puppies are great arent they?

  2. HeeHee! I had a rat terrier and trying to do any floor-based exercise was next to impossible for the same reason: puppy kisses! As for tree pose… I’d be more worried about being watered! 😉

  3. I hear you with the exercising and dog issue. I have a black lab and she thinks laying on the floor means that you are there to hang out with her. I can’t do sit ups or push ups she tries to lick me and when I do sit ups she tried to lay on me and doing situps are painful enough but with 70 extra pounds leaning against you is no fun!

  4. hahaha, i got a great mental image of you doing yoga with little dogs all around you!

    I found your blog through etsy forums and just wanted to say hi and that your blog is lovely! have a beautiful wednesday!

    xo, Katie

  5. I garden with my chihuahuas and they actually go on 3 mile walk/runs with me several times a week… I use lightweight harness on them so they don’t have any strain on their necks. Check out my chi with a carrot! http://nadiaknows.com/2010/01/16/nantes-carrot-and-chula/
    Happy Blogging!

Leave a Reply

